2.3 2D Comp research project

I chose to research and structure my project from Ingrid Calame. Ingrid’s methodology is tracing stains that are on roads. She then layers them on top of each other for a very abstract look. Detail is quite important to her. She focuses on lacy stains, the contour of them, and textures. These stains capture life of average people.
For my project, I plan on using her method of tracing and layering. I’m choosing a different subject matter. I thought tracing the designs and outlines of roadmaps would be really interesting. There is a lot going on in them and there is a lot of detail. Julie Mehretu traces maps also. Her work is incredibly detailed as well.

Leave a Reply

